Rosedale is a town that has been known by three names, this all occurred within the space of 10 years over 150 years ago. It’s located 2 hours down the Princes Freeway from Melbourne. It’s about 2 hours from Lakes Entrance, making it an ideal place to stop and revive. It’s an historical town, with parks, shopping and things to do.
The first name Rosedale was known by was Snake Ridge Run coined by Angus McMillan in 1842, as he found a snake being eaten beside the ridge at the Northern edge of town. Snake Ridge Run was the name for the entire area, Blind Joe had a hut by the creek, the second name. The Dutton’s bought the land South of the Latrobe River and called it Rosedale. After his wife Rosalie, in 1848. In 1858 the Rosedale Hotel was built and the town was officially named Rosedale in 1955 after being known as Rosedale for around a hundred years by that point.
Things to do
There are three parks with playgrounds (Prince St Reserve, Edward Crooke Park and a park on Queen St).
See the Giant Eagle on Cansick Street.
Visit with the steel plated Patrobas Melbourne Cup Winner of 1915.
Prince Street Reserve, also has a skate/Bmx park, a basketball hoop, historic buildings, BBQ facilities, toilets.
Willow Park on the North side of the town is a great place for RV’s to stop overnight and walk into town. It’s also a beautiful place for a BBQ with some great views. An historical bridge remains there as a reminder of the first bridge.
There are so many unique shops in town, many related to historical or vintage products, great coffee, tantalising food. A place to refresh yourself.
There are many camping grounds, walking trails and beautiful views.